DUI And Vehicular Manslaughter Are Serious Criminal Charges
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) and vehicular manslaughter are two Washington criminal charges that carry significant penalties. A conviction for either of these charges can lead to a lengthy jail sentence, the loss of a driver’s license, hefty fines and many other potential punishments. You need an aggressive attorney who will fight for your freedom if you are charged with either of these crimes.
At The Law Office of Michael Austin Stewart, our experienced attorney defends the rights of people across Washington who are charged with DUI and vehicular manslaughter. Our attorney, Michael Austin Stewart, and team will thoroughly investigate every aspect of your case to create a personalized defense. You can schedule your free consultation at our Tacoma office now by calling 253-948-3586.
A DUI Can Derail Your Future
A person can be charged with a DUI if they are caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or a concentration of five nanograms of THC per milliliter of blood. People who drive with a BAC of .15% or more will face more severe consequences, including longer jail sentence and higher fines. A person who is under the age of 21 can be charged with a DUI if they have a BAC above .00 percent.
Washington state DUI charges carry some of the most severe penalties in the country. A first-time DUI conviction carries a maximum sentence of a year in jail, $5,000 in fines, a one-year license suspension and the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID). These penalties get more severe if a person is charged with multiple DUIs in seven years, if they refuse to take a breath or blood test or if they have a .15 BAC at the time of the arrest. Because of these severe consequences, you need to get a strong defense from a proven lawyer. Michael has helped many DUI clients defend their rights and get the best possible outcome.
Vehicular Manslaughter Is A Serious Crime
A person can be charged with vehicular manslaughter if they cause the death of another while driving recklessly under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Vehicular manslaughter is a felony charge that carries the maximum penalties of up to life in prison and a fine of up to $50,000. Additionally, the driver will face a two-year license revocation after they get out of prison.
If you are charged with vehicular manslaughter, you need to take immediate action to protect your rights and freedom. Our lawyer can begin defending you as soon as you call our office. Michael has decades of criminal defense experience and is a proven courtroom defender.
Get Immediate Help In A Free Consultation
You can learn more about how our attorney can help by talking to him in a free consultation. Call us now at 253-948-3586 or send us an email to schedule this free first consultation. Se habla español.