Even if it is your first run-in with law enforcement, a drunk driving arrest in Washington carries potentially serious, and lasting, consequences. Therefore, it is important for you to understand the penalties you could face if you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in the state.
According to the Washington State Administration Office of the Courts, if you are convicted of DUI with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of between .08 and 0.15, you will be sentenced to a mandatory minimum of 24 consecutive hours in jail and up to 364 days. Should be arrested with a BAC level of 0.15 or greater, you may be sentenced to between 48 consecutive hours and 364 days in jail. In some cases, the court may see fit to order electronic home monitoring or admittance to a 24-hour sobriety program instead of jail time.
In addition to the possibility of jail, you may also be subject to fines if you are convicted of drunk driving. If your BAC level was under 0.15, you may be fined between $99.50 and $5,000. The fine you could face for a DUI with a BAC equal to or in excess of 0.15 is between $1,245.50 and $5,000. You may be fined, as well as required to pay any applicable assessments if you had a passenger under the age of 16 in your vehicle at the time of your arrest.
A drunk driving conviction will also cost you your driving privileges. Depending on your BAC level, your driver’s license may be suspended for 90-days or revoked for up to one year. The period of revocation may be extended to two years if you refused to submit to a breath or blood test.
The information contained in this post is meant for general purposes only and should not be taken as legal advice.