It is no surprise that drinking often accompanies celebrations in Washington State. When you are underage, you may think little of the issue of drinking. You want to go out, have a good time and worry little about anything else. What happens if the police catch you driving under the influence? A DUI is a serious offense, but can be worse if you are underage
A DUI in Washington State is a serious offense. For minors, there is a zero tolerance law, according to the Washington State LCB. If you are under the legal age to drink, then you do not have to be buzzed or drunk to face charges. In fact, you can have a blood alcohol concentration of .02 to .07 percent to lose your license. You may also face a suspended license, alcohol treatment, jail time and more.
As a minor, you do not have to have the alcohol on you to face charges of a minor in possession. If you show signs that you drank alcohol or If you fail the tests, then you may face up to a year in jail or a 5,000 dollar fine.
The law also states that if you drink alcohol and are between the ages of 13 and 17, you could lose your driving privileges for a year. These charges can be even more serious if you have a fake ID also. A fake idea has a minimum fee of 250 dollars and can land you in jail for up to 90 days. Likewise, it is illegal for another person to loan you his or her ID.